Seventh Annual Harriers Hounds 40 Metre Sand Sprint

Roo Kersen joined Bebe Reid and Java Wear as two-time HHSS champions by blitzing to a new course record of 3.93 seconds to run a first-ever sub-four-second time.  Abby Nylen was the silver medalist in 4.57 seconds and Bebe Reid collected the bronze in 4.72 seconds.  Professional Dog Trainer and "Is Your Dog Driving You Crazy?" van owner, Ben Kersen, arrived one hour early to run Roo and Joey through a series of time trials prior to the big race.  His professional dog handling skills paid handsome dividends as Roo ran off with a new course record. At the opposite end of the spectrum, Ben's skills failed dismally with Joey Kersen, who finished dead last and collected the "Most Easily Distracted Dog" medal, almost 5 seconds behind 6th place Scout Bakewell and a full 7 seconds behind the race winner.

There were 7 starters and 7 finishers at the Harriers Hounds Race with three four-legged spectators and four four-legged friends attending in spirit.  The hounds were accompanied by 14 two-legged spectators and 12 Hellions that were celebrating Sandy Auburn's 58th birthday at Thetis Lake Park.  Full results are below.


Past winners, Molly and Bebe Reid

Seventh Annual Harriers Hounds 40 Metre Sand Sprint

Thetis Lake Park – October 18, 2014


  1. Roo Kersen – 3.93 seconds (Molly Reid Top Dog Trophy) (New Course Record)
  2. Abby Nylen – 4.57 seconds
  3. Bebe Reid – 4.72 seconds
  4. Kali Simpson – 4.90 seconds
  5. Java Wear – 5.01 seconds
  6. Scout Bakewell – 6.05 seconds
  7. Joey Kersen – 10.93 seconds (Most Easily Distracted Dog)
  8. Digger McKay – DNS
  9. Barker Taylor - DNS
  10. Bindi Scriven – DNS
  11. Molly Reid – In spirit
  12. Charlie Galbraith – In spirit
  13. Old Yeller Nylen – In spirit
  14. Pasha Saunders – In spirit

14 spectators, 12 degrees, mild and dry conditions



2008 – Java Wear – 4.24 seconds

2009 – Molly Reid – 4.55 seconds

2010 – Bebe Reid – 4.46 seconds

2011 – Bebe Reid – 4.84 seconds

2012 – Roo Kersen – 4.83 seconds

2013 – Java Wear – 5.05 seconds

2014 – Roo Kersen – 3.93 seconds (Course Record)






We respect and honour the Peoples on whose traditional lands we live and run

Runner of the Week

Harriers Runner of the Week

December 10, 2023

Andrew Russell, Patricia Roney, Shane Ruljancich and Lindsay Fraser...


PIH Chat on FB


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


 Follow us on Twitter


Scroll to top